Youth Group Swim Lessons
Dependents of the following groups are eligible to sign up for swim lessons:
- Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Students with a valid Texas State ID
- Student Recreation Center members
- Texas State Child Development Center members
Which level do I sign my child up for?
Please feel free to click the "more info" button on each level. There you will find detailed descriptions about each level which will help you decide. If you are still not sure, give us a call and we will do our best to guide you. However, until we get your child in the water it is often impossible to tell exactly which level is best for them. Sometimes we are able to switch children to a different level but at other times maximum capacities in each class prevent us from doing so.
All vehicles are required to register their vehicle with Parking Services and properly display the permit anytime the vehicle is parked on campus. If you do not have a permit, the garage located on Speck Street has a pay to display kiosk. The kiosk takes debit or credit and costs $5. Upon payment, the kiosk will print a temporary permit that has to be displayed on your dash board. The temporary permit is good until midnight of the day it was purchased.
All swim lesson participants must obey all policies and procedures of Texas State's parking services. For more information about parking, please click here or call 512-245-2887.
Late/Absence Policy: You are responsbile for being on time to all class sessions. If your student is late, the instructor(s) will not schedule a make up session or provide refunds. The same goes for classes that are missed entirely.
Refunds: There are no refunds for sessions purchased or classes missed. Funds cannot be transferred to other programs either.
Cancellation of classes:
- All classes must have at least 4 children signed up or the class will be cancelled
- Cancellations of entire sessions will occur 24 hours before the first day of class.
- If an individual class has to be cancelled due to unforeseeable circumstances, Texas State will do everything we can to make up the class at a later date, but make up sessions are not guaranteed.
Healthy Swimming: We ask all parents to help us keep our pools healthy and safe for all users. In order to do this, we ask that all patrons with kids:
- Per state law, please change diapers in a bathroom or a diaper-changing area; never on deck.
- Wash your child thoroughly (especially the rear end) with soap and water before swimming.
- Never swim or allow your child to swim with diarrhea. You can spread germs in the water and make other people sick.
- For more info about healthy swimming, visit www.cdc.gov/healthyswimming
Parents: Parents may not leave the natatorium/wet classroom during the swim lessons. They must be available to take a child to the bathroom if the child needs to go during a lesson as swim instructors and lifeguards cannot leave the other youth in order to take them. Also, access to the pool and any other portion of the SRC is strictly forbidden for non-SRC members.
Appropriate attire: Swim diapers are required on all children who are not potty trained. Disposable diapers are available at the SRC front desk for $3.00. Only bathing suits or attire made of bathing suit material are allowed in our pools. The lifeguards have the ultimate decision on what is acceptable and what is not. Any blow up toys or floaties are not allowed.
Locker rooms: There are locker rooms directly attached to the SRC Natatorium for your use during lessons. There is also a family locker room that should be used when the parent or guardian is the opposite sex of the youth.
Class Level: The instructors have the ultimate discretion on which class level is best for a youth and have the right to switch a child into a higher or lower level class.
Instructors: If you feel a swim instructor or other Campus Recreation staff does not provide a sufficient level of customer service, please contact the Aquatics and Safety office at (512) 245-8454 or (512) 245-8454. All patrons will be given the opportunity to fill out an evaluation form at the completion of the session.
Dropping Courses: Under no circumstances may a person who has a spot, "give" their spot to you. They must drop the course by contacting us and the first person on the waitlist to sign up will gain it.
Severe Weather Policy: In the event of lightening within 5 miles of the SRC, the pool will close for 30 minutes. With each new lightening strike, the timer will reset.
If a class is full then you can be added to a waitlist. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org to do so. Be sure to create an account for yourself and your child first for the quickest service. In the email, include what level you would like your child in. If a spot or spots become available you will be immediately notified via email. Unfortunately there is no way of knowing for sure if anything will become open.
Occasionally, if we get enough interest on a waitlist we will try to schedule another class.
Under no circumstances may a person who has a spot, "give" their spot to you. They must drop the course by contacting us and the first person on the waitlist to sign up will gain it.
REGISTRATION & CURRENT SCHEDULE
Registration for SUMMER 2018 will open April 23rd, 2018 at 11am.
Summer 2018 schedule:
Session 1: June 5th - June 28th
Session 2: July 10th - August 2nd
|Tuesdays and Thursdays|
|Parent/Child Level 1||5:45-6:15pm|
|Parent/Child Level 2 - More Info on Parent/Child||5:45-6:15pm|
|Preschool Aquatics Level 1||6:00-6:30pm|
|Preschool Aquatics Level 2||6:00-6:30pm|
|Preschool Aquatics Level 3 - More Info on Preschool Aquatics||6:00-6:30pm|
|Learn to Swim Level 1||6:30-7:15pm|
|Learn to Swim Level 2||6:30-7:15pm|
|Learn to Swim Level 3||6:45-7:30pm|
|Learn to Swim Level 4||6:45-7:30pm|
|Learn to Swim Level 5||6:45-7:30pm|
|Learn to Swim Level 6 - More Info on Levels 1-6||6:45-7:30pm|
Registration is done on our online portal. Please read the below info carefully before starting the online registration. YOU NEED TO ADD YOUR CHILDREN AS DEPENDENTS. SEE BELOW FOR DIRECTIONS.
If you have a Texas State username and password: You will not need to create a new account for yourself. HOWEVER, once logged in, go to your account and click on "add a dependent". You will need to add each of your children as dependents. Detailed directions can be found here.
If you do NOT have a Texas State username and password: Please see above for eligibility requirements. If you meet one of those, then please create an account for yourself. Once this is done, you will need to then click on "add a dependent" to add each of your children. Detailed directions can be found here.
Refunds & Transfers: Refunds are not given less than 72 working hours before the first day of class. Transfers and refunds (that are requested at least 72 working hours before the start of class) will have a $15 administrative fee.
Tip: Be sure you have selected the correct semester when attempting to register!
For more information
For more information about Youth Group Swim lessons please email email@example.com or call